Easy as Pie. Sort of. Not Really.

27 Mar

Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 7.10.26 PM

The pie chart above represents my workouts for TODAY.

Not for the last week or the last couple of days. TODAY. In a single day I did 30 minutes of strength training, went for an 18 minute open water swim, biked 2:12 hrs (including one hour that was just going back and forth over a bridge several times), and finished it all off with a 43 minute run.

I really can’t believe that anyone ever trains for a full Ironman because this is what training for a half is like. I also really don’t understand how anyone does this while working a 9-5 job. And I have the utmost, UTMOST respect for anyone who tackles this kind of endeavor while raising kids. Holy hell. I am so freaking lucky. And it’s kinda nuts that it takes a day like today to make me realize that.

Some of you out there are probably thinking that all of this makes me the opposite of lucky. “Four hours of training,” you exclaim to yourself. “That bitch isn’t lucky, she’s DUMB. Or at the very least insane.” And you may well be right on both counts. But I’m still grateful. And maybe it’s the overwhelming surge of endorphins rushing through my body right now but I just have to say thanks to the universe. Not only do I have the arms and legs and organs and overal health that makes it possible to even consider doing something like this, but I also have a great job and my independence and a team of training partners who push me and make me want to get out there and push myself. I also have friends and family who think that this is even moderately cool for me to be doing it.

I also have great weather. I mean, really? REALLY, FLORIDA? Really? Today? The weather today? Did that actually happen? Was it actually 45 degrees with no humidity this morning and then 70 degrees with no humidity and cloudless skies and like, zero wind when we were out on KB this afternoon? Was the water actually that blue? That clear? That flat? Really?

I don’t know what’s happening to me. I’m a little concerned about how I’m going to feel in 90 minutes. When whatever this is wears off and I go back to being grumpy or I just fall out on the couch in front of whatever shlock reality TV show is clogging up the airwaves tonight or my heart explodes or I have to eat two sweet potatoes. That last part would actually be pretty nice. And there are two in the oven right now so it could happen.

I don’t know how to end this post. I wish I could end it with pie. Sweet potato pie. I could. Hmmmm.

I won’t. I’ve seriously eaten so much sugar today it’s a little obscene.

OK. I’m going to go take a shower. And a breath.

4 Responses to “Easy as Pie. Sort of. Not Really.”

  1. Rona March 28, 2013 at 12:45 am #

    You know, I think of you as my exercise inspiration. I can’t compare how I exercise remotely to what you do. I’m a regular person, and I try to get in 5 days of 30 min/ day when I’m good. So getting your little kick-ass messages in my inbox reminds me to keep doing the regular stuff that I do while you rock out for 4 hours. Thanks E.

    • mymultipersonality April 2, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

      exercise is exercise, plain and simple. it’s always good and it’s always hard and it’s always worth it. I see some of my teammates training for full iron distance races and I wonder how the hell they do it. And then I read an article about a 74 year woman who finished Ironman World Championships with a broken clavicle and I realize that we’re all capable of pretty much anything. Except maybe flying or breathing under water. Committing to 30 minutes a day five days a week is just as difficult as committing to 14-20 hours a week. It’s all relative. Keep it up!

  2. iwanttobeatriathlete March 28, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    Awesome post! Love that you realized that you are blessed. And actually, we are all blessed… but I won’t get into my dissertation about life. Keep it up! I missed my bike workout yesterday and feel super guilty. Getting my swim in tonight, because this morning was too cold.

Leave a Reply

