Starting Over in the Water and Rolling Along

27 Jun

Good morning! It’s 9:47AM where I am. An absolutely gorgeous morning here in Steamboat. And yet I can’t help but feel a little uneasy enjoying the cool temps and slight uptick in humidity while the Front Range is literally and figuratively on fire. I just saw some of those photos for the first time (no TV out here) and it’s looking pretty gruesome. We are all crossing out fingers that camp (just shy of it’s 100th birthday) can avoid flaming out.

There was talk this morning of drought and water conservation. Looks like we had a little sprinkling last night but at this point, town needs several days of torrential rain to make up for lost time. To do my part, I’m going to skip my post-ride shower and hold off until after my speed workout this afternoon. This means I might smell a little until 5PM, but everyone else here smells so I should blend in.

A brief training report and then back to work. I swam yesterday. It was really hard. Tomorrow marks two weeks since climbing up to altitude and I still feel like I’ve never been in a pool before. The bulk of my 2450meter  workout yesterday consisted of drills and 50-100 meter repeats with short rest intervals. Not too bad, right? But the warmup included a straight 400 and I couldn’t do it. I got 150 meters in and then I had to stop after every 50 for a few seconds to catch my breath. Not fun. But by the end of the workout I was starting to feel OK.

Went for a ride this morning with Team Red, White and Pink. Absolutely flipping gorgeous. I mean just look at that sky! I wish I could take more pictures during these rides but alas that would slow us down considerably and defeat the whole point. Maybe on Friday when we go out for a long slow distance ride I’ll take a few more shots of the terrain.

My workout this AM was supposed to include rollers and some long climbs. Out here I can actually get rollers and long climbs without having to go up and down the Rickenbacker a hundred times! I can’t say enough good things about cycling out here. Every ride provides some new amazing challenge. This morning, we headed out on 20 mile road, which is just non-stop ups and downs. I’m getting a lot of shifting practice. We only made it 8 miles before we had to turn back but eventually we’ll do the full ride which apparently includes a monstrous climb further down that Danica said had her hitting 43mph on the decline! Can’t wait.

We made it back in time for breakfast–smoked salmon today! And French toast but I avoided that. Been trying to stick to my guns in terms of diet but it’s difficult since I’m not making my own food. But I’ve got my own bread and my own snacks for between meals and then I tend to just bulk up on salad at lunch and dinner. But there has been some ice cream consumption and last night was wing night and well, you know how it goes. But today the goal is to take in no extra sugar! If our chef would stop baking every damned day maybe I could make that happen.

4 Responses to “Starting Over in the Water and Rolling Along”

  1. willtriforbeer June 27, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Steamboat is great! I’m at 9,000 ft in the foothills of the front range and yes we are burning down! It’s been in the triple digits the last 5 days and the smoke from the fires is making it hard to train. Enjoy your time in CO and good luck at Augusta!

    • mymultipersonality June 30, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

      I hope you guys have gotten some relief in the last couple of days. we had a few small fires out here (put out immediately, thank goodness) and everyone has been very much on edge. But we finally got some rain. Here’s hoping the moisture makes its way east. Stay safe. And yes, Steamboat is the bomb.

  2. Susan Middlebrooks June 29, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    We are flying home tomorrow from spending a week in Estes Park. Thankfully the fire there was contained quickly. Edith, you would have laughed at us hiking in the altitude – totally sucking air! We were very impressed with the running and cycling communities out here – folks on bikes everywhere – much different that good old GA.

    • mymultipersonality June 30, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      i am really sorry I didn’t get to connect with you guys. but the fire sitch along with my schedule made it impossible. I’m glad you managed to have a great vacation and stay safe. Yes, the sports communities in this state are redic. it’s a whole different ball game out here. I’m really enjoying the rides and runs. Swims are a different story.

Leave a Reply

