Changing Scenery

31 May

Forgive my lack of posts for the last–eegads!–almost two weeks. But I’ve been on the road. In the car, on my bike, on my feet. And there’s been family. Loads of family. And friends. I’m back in the northern stated for a few weeks before I head west. I am really missing my Alien Endurance peeps but finding a real joy in training solo for the first time since September.

There’s something kinda scary about going out on your own. Especially in “uncharted” territory. The pic above is from the first stopping point along my 37mile ride through Mattapoisett, Marion and Rochester, Massachusetts last Friday. Definitely don’t get to see many old Yankee grave yards in Miami.

Stingers at the fuel stop.

This was taken on my absolute favorite stretch on that ride: Mary’s Pond Rd. Sadly, I didn’t get a shot of Mary’s pond–I didn’t want to stop again–but trust me, it was picturesque.

How can the same damned ocean feel so totally different? I am bummed that I didn’t get an OW swim in while I was there but with no partners and no life guards on duty, I just didn’t feel good about it.

I went out super early in the AM both days that I rode. The light was just fantastic and these roads were absolutely traffic free, well-maintained and gently rolling. More hilly than I’m used to but that’s not saying much. Still, a good challenging ride both days.

In Western mass now so away from the water but smack dab in the middle of the Berkshires. Found the YMCA and did a swim workout on Tuesday. Found the flattest stretch of road possible for speed work too. Rides have been…challenging. We’ll leave it at that.

Mixing up the R&R with training. Eating some good rhubarb. Strolling through interesting farmer’s markets. Prepping for the Rockies and all the fun that comes with ’em. Adios for now.

5 Responses to “Changing Scenery”

  1. iwanttobeatriathlete May 31, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    We miss you too!!!

  2. Silvana Roncal May 31, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Heck! you even learned some Spanish working out with the Extranjeros! I see that you are continuing to loose weight……….take it easy it looks good already. Can’t wait to have you back here. It will be lonely on June 20th……..trilogy day……ciao!

  3. CultFit May 31, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Glad to hear all is well!!! Take care 🙂

  4. Mark June 1, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Miami is lessened by your absence. Also: I think you can do better than instagram filters. 🙂

    • mymultipersonality June 1, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

      aw thanks. i am happy to have gotten out of there pre-zombie apocalypse though. as for instagram, my phone’s all i got for a camera right now. other one is buried somewhere in the trunk of my car. to be unearthed when i get to CO.

Leave a Reply

