Taking Stock

11 May

So I’m in the middle of moving. Not sure where I’m moving too, yet, but I am moving out of my current apartment before I depart for the summer and shoving all my stuff into storage. I’m gonna worry about finding a place when I return to Miami for fall semester but for now, the focus is solely on packing up and getting out. Still, I’m packing up. And I’m going through stuff. Tossing whatever I can, cleaning house, taking stock.

During today’s packing process (I’m doing a little bit every day instead of procrastinating and saving everything for one stressful 48 hour period before the movers come) I came across my race medals and trophies from the last nine months. My first nine months of racing. And I just had to pause, put all of my medals on at once and take this picture:

Self congratulatory? Sure. But fuck. Sometimes you have to pause to congratulate yourself. And give thanks to the folks who helped you achieve. Tomorrow is Mother’s Day. Had my mother never born me, I wouldn’t have been able to swim/bike/run these races. If my mother and father hadn’t made physical fitness, athletics and healthy eating top priority in our household, I probably wouldn’t have had the desire or drive to box or start endurance training.

Thanks to my crazy running and triathlon friends who inspired me to give this a go. Thanks to Alien Endurance, Andy Clark (even if he does occasionally call me “Shark bait”) and his assistant coaches for teaching me how to do all this stuff; and to all my fellow Aliens for being awesome training partners.

All of this occurred to me today because of the packing, yes, but also because I’m pretty much done with the school year and I started training right at the start of the fall semester. Nine months ago. I kinda can’t believe all that has  happened in the last nine months. What has happened? Three half marathons (including the sub-2 that I wanted), five triathlons (with podium placements in 3 of them and top 20 finishes in the other two) , a 10K turkey trot (with a new PR) and two 5Ks (taking 1st place AG in one and 3rd place overall in the other).

And then there’s the knowledge that I’m getting faster and stronger. And all the other non-competitive stuff, the stuff that’s harder to quantify but no less important. Like the improved fitness, the feel-good endorphins coursing through my veins, the closer attention to nutrition and overall wellness; the new friends.

I have nothing else to say except that I can’t wait to keep going and see what the rest of the season holds and where I go in year two.

7 Responses to “Taking Stock”

  1. sexyflexi May 11, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    you are such a freaking bad ass. crazy accomplishments in such a short amount of time. congratulations!
    and thanks for being such a constant inspiration 🙂

  2. Judy Freni May 12, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Yes, we made healthy eating a priority in this house; however, Edith, I seem to recall many nights when you and I used to go up to McD’s and get burgers, fries, DIET Cokes and hot apple pie to eat in front of Beverly Hills 90210. Those were the good old days.

    • mymultipersonality May 12, 2012 at 12:58 am #

      yes but that was tempered by all the tofu that dad forced me to eat. and it was not MANY nights. It was maybe twice a month, generally on Friday’s. And I got up to ice skate the following morning. So it all balanced out.

  3. iwanttobeatriathlete May 12, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Wow! Ms. Freni, look at everything you have done in 9 months! You gave birth to so many medals, races, victories, challenges, PRs, and many friends. I will miss you during training this summer. Keep up the writing, so we know how you keep up with your training far away from Alien World.

    • mymultipersonality May 12, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      I wanna see your medal shot! didn’t you do like 9 races last year?
      And of course I will blog as much as possible from the mountains but our wifi is spotty so you might have to settle for weekly recaps.

  4. Mark June 26, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    You’ve only been at this for nine months?? Man, way to make me feel like a slacker. 🙂 Congrats.

Leave a Reply

