Bribe Yourself

23 Apr

After much hemming and hawing, I finally got my ass out on the road. How did I do it? I bribed myself. I incentivized. Whatever. Do what you gotta do to get the job done. I know what they say about rewarding yourself with food but today I didn’t care. I had one last Honey Stinger Waffle and I wanted it. Plus, I knew it would help me out on the bike.

Then I decided today would be the day that I splurged on a new pair of sunglasses. My old, cheap ones went missing two weeks ago and I’ve been putting off buying a new pair. So I walked up to TriJungle before my ride and got a pair of Tifosi Slips:

So far so good. They’re light-weight and pretty comfortable. I know they’re pink but whatever. They come with a set of clear lenses and a set of red lenses. And now I have a fancy case for them so I should be able to keep them scratch-free.

So great. Fully fed and outfitted, I was ready to ride. My legs were definitely tired and I got a little whiny at one point but I just kept reminding myself it was only 45 minutes. Yesterday was 90 minutes and if I could do that, I could certainly stay in the saddle for half the time. There was really no wind today so that was great too. I cycled through my gears as I was supposed to, in order to simulate climbs and headwind and all was well. Until this happened:

image

Please ignore the filth and just focus on the fact that my chain is not on either of my gears. This happened right at the base of the bridge on my way back. Like, the worst possible place to have to come to a dead stop. It happened as I was shifting and prepping to tackle the incline. Somebody please explain to me how and why this happened? And why my hands ended up looking like this despite the fact that I cleaned my chain and cassette last week:

I’ve been trying to keep on top of this. I haven’t ridden THAT much since the last cleaning. I will definitely be giving Titita a bath this afternoon. Thanks to the chivalrous dude who stopped to help me fix the issue. These are the moments when it doesn’t hurt to be a lady on a bike.

The rest of the trip was uneventful. Thankfully. This wasn’t a particularly enjoyable ride and I am no less exhausted now that it’s over, I’ll tell you that much. But I was happy to be able to log the damned thing and know that I’m not going to be back in the saddle until Wednesday.

8 Responses to “Bribe Yourself”

  1. iwanttobeatriathlete April 23, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Nice shades! They’ll match your Aliend Chick uniform for sure. That is if you succumbed like me to getting one. Peer pressure, I say.

  2. bgddyjim April 23, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    If I had to guess, your chain collected a lot of shmutz from the blowing cement dust from your windy ride yesterday (if I remember your previous post correctly – it got in your face, right?). You don’t use a dry lube so dust collects on the chain easier (try Boeshield T-9) – that’s why your hands are shiny. As far as dropping the chain, it could be out of adjustment or (more likely) you shifted while you were putting a lot of pressure on the pedal to start up the hill at a very slow cadence – shift as you’re approaching the hill, not when you get to it.

    • mymultipersonality April 23, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      Definitely makes sense that it would be dirty after yesterday. will try this lube. i totally shifted on approach to the incline, not at the incline. honestly though, it’s been shifting like crap lately so could be time to take it into the shop for a professional cleaning and some maintenance. I cleaned the hell out of it this afternoon though so I’ll see how she rides on Wednesday AM.

      • bgddyjim April 24, 2012 at 12:24 am #

        I agree with your assessment, take it to the shop. The Boeshield is some REALLY good stuff. Be sure to get your chain super clean before you put it on. Clean the chain rings and cassette again too. You’ll be shiny for weeks… I actually got a compliment from the LBS owner at the club ride last Tuesday about how clean mine is.

        Good luck.

  3. Silver Jade Deutch April 24, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Yeah, sometimes the chain will come off if you shift gears suddenly with too much load on it. Though it’s also possible the chain could be bent from transport or that the gear changer may need to be adjusted. I take my bike to EBPCycling lab. They’re AWESOME with bike maintenance and will usually take a quick look when you bring it in to tell you if anything is wrong.

    • mymultipersonality April 24, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve been taking the bike to TopDog in the Grove. Like those guys a lot and I get a decent discount on parts and labor. but I’ll keep EBP in mind for the future.

Leave a Reply

