Brick from Hell

22 Apr

The only thing that could have possibly made today’s brick any more challenging than it already was is perhaps an earthquake. Or frogs raining down from the sky. Or maybe apocalyptically sized hail.

I’m sitting on my couch, wrapped in a towel, attempting to make this post make sense. It may not. And I’m not gonna worry about it too much. My brain is egg-fried. Sunny side up and ready for a couple splashes of Cholula and a few pieces of good toast.

I ate like a beast yesterday. I had a friend in town and I used his visit as an excuse to spend the day eating all the crap I haven’t been eating for the last several weeks. Red meat, various kinds of pork, fried foods, ice cream, hot fudge, creamy salad dressings. You name it, I probably ate it yesterday. I knew that my training today would probably suffer because of the indulgence but I said frack it, you only live once, I want a hot fudge sundae, I never see my friend, I’m doing this.

It wasn’t the eating alone that made today so tough, it was the conditions. There’s some kind of crazy storm system hanging out on top of South Florida right now. We got dumped on for most of the day yesterday and the wind was really bad. The sun came out today and so I thought, great, no rain! I’ll get my 90/30 bike/run brick done after all. In my haste to leave the house, I forgot to put on sun screen. I also forget my chest strap for the Garmin but that wasn’t such a big deal. Little did I know that zones would be meaningless on this ride.

Today was all about wind. I was going to detail every bit of my trip and where the wind was when I was in certain spots but I don’t have the brain cells for that kind of analysis. My Garmin tells the tale better than I possibly could. My warm-up miles 1-10 were nice an easy at an average pace of around 17mph. Miles 11-17, I picked up a little speed for an average of 18.35mph–even hitting 22.1 for a mile (go me!). This was an endurance ride and I didn’t feel like I was working all that hard so I was happy. For a mere moment. I’m cruising down Virginia Key, feeling good about myself, I hit the turnaround and get knocked back by a wind the likes of which I have never experienced. My times proceed to go like this:

  • Mile 18: 11.7mph
  • Mile 19: 12mph
  • Mile 20: 9.2mph (!!!!)
  • Mile 21: 10.6mph
  • Mile 22: 8.7mph (!!!!!!!)
  • Mile 23: 13.1mph
  • Mile 24: 15mph

Coming back over the bridge today (mile 22) was one of the single most challenging sports-related experiences of my young life.

I AM SERIOUS.

I got into the lowest possible gear and just kept telling myself that I had to stay in the saddle. I refused to get off and walk the bike up any part of that bridge. I got into the drops, made myself as compact and aerodynamic as I could, sucked all appendages in and tried to pull up on my pedals as much as possible. The ride itself was challenging but the bigger annoyance was all the cement dust and debris that kept flying at me. I am not ashamed to admit that I screamed, “F*!# YOU!” a few times at no one in particular. I am also not ashamed to admit that I nearly started crying at the top of the climb. I’m sure I was quite the sight.

I just looked at Weatherbug and it has wind out on the Key clocking in at 28mph with gusts up to 40+. During the ride I estimated high 20s/low 30s and I kid you not when I write that I experienced a few moments of legit panic, thinking I might end up blown off the road. Luckily that didn’t happen. I just tried to make myself as heavy as possible on the bike. Still though, I was being blown all over the place.

I made it home in once piece and had to transition quickly into a 30 minute run. I don’t know how it’s possible that my legs still worked after that bike but they did. They worked so well in fact, that I managed to run 3.87 in 31:44.48 with negative splits of 8:30, 8:10, 8:03 for the first three miles. Somehow, in the last .87, I gained a second for an 8:04 average. Hmph. Whatever, I’m happy with that–it would have been a faster 4 miler than my run time at Nautica. AFTER a significantly hairier bike.

Half way through the run the sky opened up and POURED DOWN RAIN ON ME. I knew what my pace was at that point and felt really good so I didn’t want to stop. Instead, I turned it on despite the fact that my sneaks were taking on water like a busted sloop and felt like 5 lb weights tied around my ankles.

So there was high sun (did I fail to mention, I didn’t start this brick until 11:30AM), high humidity, 28mph winds with gusts up to 40 and ultimately, torrential rain. I can barely keep my eyes open right now so I’m going to end this post with a whimper, and maybe a thud, but no bang. I got no bang left.

6 Responses to “Brick from Hell”

  1. Mark April 22, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Sounds like one to remember. 🙂

    I was beaten out by the weather this week. You were not. As a result, you’ll probably wipe the asphalt with me at the Key Biscayne Half next week.

    • mymultipersonality April 23, 2012 at 12:23 am #

      we’ll see. my half time is still not looking good for sub 2 based on recent training. and if the weather is ANYTHING like it was today, forget it. I’ll be happy to finish on my feet.

  2. bgddyjim April 23, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Had the same thing happen to me yesterday on a 30 miler – eight miles straight into the wind on the home stretch, oh do I hate the wind…

    Nice run though – fantstic!

    • mymultipersonality April 23, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      I have always had a big issue with wind. it just feels like it’s laughing at you.

      • bgddyjim April 23, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

        No doubt about it. I resorted to explicatives as well, there’s nothing worse than knowing your power is there but you’re just not moving. Good job pushing through it though.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You Must Gots to be Joking « mymultipersonality - April 23, 2012

    […] get dressed and get back out there. But I’m finding it extremely difficult to motivate after the brick from hell. So I’m struggling with this dilemma: do I just suck it up, get on the bike, get the workout […]

Leave a Reply

