Officially Onto the Next

2 Apr

I’m officially registered for the TriMiami olympic distance triathlon on May 20th! Training starts…tomorrow, I guess. According to the website, I have 47 days, 17 hours, 54 minutes and counting to prepare.

I’m not too concerned about the bike and run portions of the event–the course is basically my regular training ground so I know it well. But this will be my first 1.5k swim and obviously, I’m nervous about that. But I’d be nervous about any swim, really, so I figure why not be nervous AND distinctly challenged at the same time.

I won’t be fundraising for this one. It will be more of a diagnostic last hurrah in Miami before shoving off to Colorado where I may (or may not) try another Olympic. I think that’s going to be a last minute call. I’ll have to see how I feel when I get out there.

I have done one other longer race (the Miami Man international distance in November) but the swim was short on that one–.6mile–and THAT was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Right now, the thought of swimming a mile in the race is less daunting than the thought of training to swim a mile. The race swim is over and done with pretty quickly in the grand scheme of things. But the training…oh, endless hours in the pool! But with 47 days I have plenty of time to work technique and try to get more efficient.

Expect more updates!

 

4 Responses to “Officially Onto the Next”

  1. Susan Middlebrooks April 3, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    I also just signed up for my first Olympic and am in total agreement with your feelings about the swim! I look forward to training along with you here in Georgia and reading your training updates 🙂

  2. Mark April 9, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    May 20th, huh? I’ll see if I can show up to support you, and maybe take obnoxious photographs.

Leave a Reply

