Will Tri for Food

31 Mar

Nautica is tomorrow! I am so psyched. You know how I know? Cuz I’m actually smiling in this picture. You gotta look for me in this one (back row, four in from the left, that’s my swim-capped noggin). This is probably the first race that I feel legitimately excited about. I’ve felt a mixture of dread, anxiety, anticipation and mild exhilaration before the others but this time, despite the fact that I know it’s gonna be challenging, I am raring to go. And with this morning’s pre-race mini-brick (1/4 mile swim, 7 mile bike, 1.3 mile run) in the history books, there’s really nothing left to do to prepare. Well, that’s not true: I have to make my gear checklist, pack my stuff up and most importantly, eat right.

So here’s what I’m eating today. I had two tiny almond muffins before the workout this morning, one Hammergel Raspberry between the bike and the run–less because I needed it and more to practice taking it in transition–and a Luna Cookie Dough Protein bar immediately after the workout and a bottle of water.

These things are basically candy bars with 12grams of protein. They’re high-ish on the sugar content but they actually leave me feeling pretty satisfied. They’ve become my mid-day snack on my long training/teaching days and I find that the protein/sugar boost does what my 3PM cup of coffee used to do.

For 2nd breakast/lunch, I made one of my all-time favs, pasta and eggs. I first experienced pasta and eggs at The Flying Biscuit in Atlanta, Georgia. It’s actually a great post-workout meal with it’s nice mix of carbs and protein. I like to think that mine is just a little bit healthier than what I had a TFB, if only for the lack of biscuit. Here’s what went into it:

3 whole eggs. This is a treat. I love eggs but only eat them yolks and all on the weekends. The eggs went into a mixture of:

Tinkyada rice pasta, cut veggies and Gimme Lean breakfast sausage. I love GL sausage. It like the full Lightlife line of products but this sausage is the bomb. 60 calories, no fat, 7g protein per serving and packed with potassium. It’s got great flavor and texture. It looks like A LOT of food, and it is but it’s actually mostly vegetables/sausage. Plus, I’m supposed to have some extra carbs for lunch so it’s all good. Dinner will be very light on the carbs. Dinner will actually be very light on everything. But more on that down below.

So the eggs got scrambled into the sautee and the dish ended up looking like this:

It’s an egg dish, which means that, in my house, it’s gotta get slapped with Cholula. This will be my last taste of spice until tomorrow afternoon. Over the course of the day, food will get less and less flavorful. Dinner will include a couple pieces of boiled chicken breast and steamed collard greens. I MIGHT add a small sweet potato to the mix but I’m not trying to carbo-load so I might just do double greens instead. We’ll see.

I’ll have to eat dinner around 6PM in order to be fully digested by the time I leave the house at 5AM tomorrow. In the morning, I’ll toss down two pieces of California bread toasted with a little bit of butter and honey. I might have a cup of green tea as well. And then it’s off to the races.

These are my post-race prize:

Vegan carrot cake cupcakes with vegan cream cheese frosting and candied carrots. Really looking forward to having one of these little babies and sharing them with the team. We will all deserve many cupcakes and burgers after this race.

It’s been a fun, challenging 12 weeks of training. Thanks to everyone who’s been following since I launched this project two months ago. I hope you’ll keep reading. The blog won’t stop with this race, I promise. I still have a bunch of Multiviews to post and there’s one more tri (an Olympic) and a half marathon for me in Miami before I shove off to Colorado. In CO, I’ll hopefully get in a 10K and another tri–undecided on the distance. Will have to make that decision once I see how capable I am riding my bike through the mountains at 7000 feet. Then there’s the potential for a big one to celebrate my birthday in September. But for now, the focus is on tomorrow. See you at the finish!

4 Responses to “Will Tri for Food”

  1. CultFit March 31, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Good Luck!!!

  2. sexyflexi March 31, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    Good luck tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

