Hit With a Brick

3 Mar

We had a Bike/Run brick yesterday morning out on Key Biscayne. My training schedule said 45 minute bike/60 minute run but I ended up doing 30/90 because it dawned on me that I have a half marathon at the end of April and I haven’t run long in a hot minute. So I tagged along with the four intrepid freaks on our team who just started training for a Ironman Canada–it’s in August.

Anyway. Here’s what this brick day looked like:

I got up at 6AM and pulled all my crap together. Nutrition and hydration needs are taken care of first because if I forget these items, I am screwed.

image

From L2R/T2B: 20 oz of water with one Nuun tab dropped in–this comes with me on the bike; 14 oz bottle of pain water for whenever I want it; 20 oz bottle of water with one scoop of Endurox R4 mixed in for after the workout; one gel with caffeine for transition (not pictured) and one hammer gel for half way through the run.

This is breakfast:

Coffee, an English muffin with Brummel and Brown and cinnamon-sugar, and a banana. This is pretty standard before a long workout or race. The banana is optional but I have to have some kind of toasted bread product with some form of sugar on it. And I don’t do anything without coffee. I know it doesn’t look like a  lot considering I’m about to exercise for two hours but that’s where the gels come in. If I eat any more of this, my GI system will revolt midway through the run.

This is a picture of the log-jam getting onto the Rickenbacker:

For those of you reading this in other parts of the country, the Rickenbacker is the only way onto and out of Key Biscayne, unless you have a boat.

I didn’t get any pix of the bike ride. But that’s OK because it would have been dangerous to do so. But here’s a photo of the team right before heading out on the run:

Thanks to IWantToBeATriathlete for forcing us to take a group picture. It added time to transition but what can ya do? Sometimes, in life, you must pause to take things a little less seriously.

The run was long and slow and hot. Very hot. It’s been in the 80s here lately, which is unseasonable for February. My four running mates are in the base-building phase for Canada so that meant they had to stay in zone 1 for the run and we all basically trotted out 8.42 miles in 90 minutes. This was fine by me. First long run in three weeks and I felt every minute of it.

When the run was done, I chugged my Endurox and then jumped into the water to give my legs a little hyrdrotherapy. It was nice but did not save me from the soreness that followed later in the day. I was late getting to the Advil and didn’t ice long enough and–idiot me–I didn’t stretch. The day got crazy immediately after my workout and I just plum forgot to do it. So everything hurt until around 7PM when I had two Avery IPAs and half a homemade pizza. Ibuprofen, beer and carbs are always good for what ails ya.

But before I headed home yesterday morning, I took this pic of Alien Endurance Beach:

Not a bad looking training ground.

5 Responses to “Hit With a Brick”

  1. iwanttobeatriathlete March 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    My respects! You were able to keep up with the those running beasts. You are my hero. I did my 90, for which I was 1) not mentally prepared for, as I was supposed to do the 60 minute run too, and 2) not wearing my compression pants. I was feeling shooting pain on my left IT band after an hour. I was about to stop when I realized I had 15 minutes to go, so decided to suck it up! I went slow yesterday… your zone 1 is my zone 5, so I really have to go slow. The beach today was rough. We need to get in it again.

    • mymultipersonality March 4, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

      yeah but THEY were in zone 1 the whole time too so they’re pace was nice and manageable for me yesterday! I was probably in and out of zone 3 for the most part. Oh well. You have been having IT band problems, yes? What are you doing for it?

      • iwanttobeatriathlete March 4, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

        Nothing. Really. It just hurt while I was running with out my super duper compression pants. 😦

  2. iwanttobeatriathlete March 4, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    BTW, thanks for plugging my blog.

  3. Mark March 4, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Nice hood scoop. ;P

Leave a Reply

