I Know Where the Zone Is Now

2 Mar

I wrote about the Zone in an earlier post but I wasn’t exactly sure where or what it was. I just knew that if I said the word Zone over and over to myself mid-swim, I focused a little better and could finish with greater ease.

I discovered the truth of the Zone today in the middle of what turned into a 2900 yard swim. I didn’t swim the whole 2900 straight. It was a mix of drills and freestyle intervals of varying distances (500s, 300s, 100s) at varying levels of intensity and also intervals using props like buoys and fins and paddles.

About 250 yards into a 500 yard “easy” swim set towards the end of the workout, I went to the Zone and this is what it is:

The Zone is a tube of effortless form.

Nothing’s perfect but if you stretch out you become a beam of light.

The Zone is neon.

Ummmm.

Yeah. So I don’t know what the hell this means but it was on a loop in my brain for the rest of the swim. I figured it might be important. Or maybe it’ll help another weak swimmer in some way. Or maybe I was so hungry and fatigued that I’d started to hallucinate a little bit. Regardless, I busted the secret of the Zone.

 

 

6 Responses to “I Know Where the Zone Is Now”

  1. Mark March 3, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    “I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

    –Bene Gesserit litany against fear

  2. bearrunner March 3, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I agree, Powerbar gels are gross! Tried a vanilla one this a.m, barely able to eat it.. I had a clif chocolate also which was much better!

    Haven’t tried hammer gels but I will pick some up!

    cheers

    • mymultipersonality March 4, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      Apparently, I can no longer say “Powerbar gels are gross.” They are one of our sponsors. Oops. However, I can say that I’ve never had luck with ANY vanilla-flavored gel. Regardless of brand. One of my friends claims if she closes her eyes, she can convince herself that she’s eating a boston cream donut without the donut but they make me wanna gag. I tend to stick with the coffee or fruit flavors.
      I would spread the Montana Huckleberry Hammer Gel on toast if I thought that would be socially acceptable. Also, yesterday, one of my training partners had a new product I’d never seen before . Forget what it was called (Thrive? Strive?) but it was vegan, lactose free and made with figs. She said it was delicious.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brains on the Brain « mymultipersonality - March 9, 2012

    […] a little long but it really works in the middle of those long swims. So I’ve got the Twilight Zone, my friend Susan’s,”It’s the last fucking mile/lap/interval/etc..,” and […]

  2. Totally Immersed « mymultipersonality - April 13, 2012

    […] and creating a tunnel to swim through. I heard this and it immediately made me think of my Zone: the tunnel of endless […]

Leave a Reply

