Top of the Morning to You, Saturday!

25 Feb

And what a lovely morning you are.

Were.

Oh yes, that’s right. Many apologies, you are now Saturday afternoon. And I am starting to fade. Yes, it’s nearly time for my mid-day nap. But before that, a recap:

Woke this morning at 5:30 for a 7AM open water swim out at “Alien Endurance Beach.” Also known as the stretch of beach across from MAST Academy with the parking lot where we all meet. I got to break my wetsuit out of dry storage and I’m glad I did because, well, I like to feel as buoyant as possible. But it wasn’t totally necessary. The water was cold for a mere moment but mid-swim and I wanted to rip that thing off I was so overheated. I think I might need to spring for a sleeveless suit pretty soon.

Overall, the swim was great! The water was clear and flat. No obnoxious currents in either direction to thwart my efforts. And most importantly, today was the first time I got into that water and worried only about my swim and not about what carnivorous sea creature was stalking my every stroke.

My workout consisted of 2 x 150 yards. Coach Andy assured us that swimming from buoy one to buoy three was only 75 yards but I dunno, I kinda wanna map that swim. From a distance, it looked wayyyy longer than 3 lengths of the pool. But it’s all good. Was still a good swim and I’m glad I got her done.

We followed the swim up with a nice, easy 30 minute run. Actually, I followed the swim up with a half a bag of Honey Stinger Orange Blossom Organic Energy Chews. I love these a little too much. I saved the rest of the bag for later. I completed the run at a pleasant, conversational (zone 1-2) pace but it was a scorcher out there, let me tell you. Even at 8AM  it felt like the sun was burning a hole right through me. But I’ve been on a sunblock binge lately so it’s all good. Last fall I was a little too cavalier when it came to applying the block but I’m getting better about slathering it on before and after the swim. I am doing all of this exercising to AVOID aging prematurely. Would suck to prune up while still in the prime of my life.

At 10:30, we had a weight clinic over at the Sweatshop in Coral Gables. This is good because I have been slacking in a  major way when it comes to strength training. Mostly because weights bore me but also because I fear that I’m doing everything wrong. Can’t use that excuse anymore.

I’m hungry. Where’s lunch?

5 Responses to “Top of the Morning to You, Saturday!”

  1. bearrunner February 28, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    It must be awesome getting in lots of open water swims… Pool swims get boring haha

    cheers

    • mymultipersonality February 28, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      pool swims do get boring but you don’t have to worry about big fish! yes, it is a bonus having easy access to open water. especially since the races are in the same basic areas.

  2. Mark February 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    I agree with you on the heat on Saturday. It was brutal out there, I think one of the guys I saw at the water stop at Cocoplum circle mentioned 94% humidity, as well. Still got my 14 miles in, though.

    Congrats on overcoming your open water fears. I know those things would be on my mind, as well.

    • mymultipersonality February 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      yeah, i saw your comments on Runkeeper and was going to respond re. how the HELL you ran 14 miles in that weather. were you up at 3 in the AM?

      • Mark March 1, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

        My only consolation is that it should (in theory) translate to pace gains when the weather cools off again… which will likely be in November.

Leave a Reply

