Recovery Monday Bars Recipe

24 Feb

I’ve decided to stick with the original name for these tasty little things. I made my way through the first batch in a little over a week. I ate them mostly as mid-day snacks and lemme tell you, they totally satisfied for a couple of hours at least. Today, I had two after a long bike and again, felt really full.

I upped the good-fat/protein ante on the batch I made today by adding an egg white and more seeds. The downside is that they are no longer vegan but they’re still packed with good-for-you stuff and have enough bulk to make you feel fuller for a longer period of time.

I don’t know that I would consume these so greedily if I wasn’t in training but I see no reason why they can’t be a healthy snack for anyone who wants to ditch store-brand and take control of what enters his/her body. They are also so easy to make a mildly impaired monkey could pull them off. Anyway, la recipe:

RECOVERY MONDAY BARS

2 cups oats
1/3 cup soy flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup Agave
1 large egg white
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup dried cranberries, chopped
1/2 cup raw unsalted sunflower seeds
1/2 cup raw unsalted pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
1/2 cup shredded baking coconut (this stuff is sweetened; you can try this recipe with unsweetened flaked coconut but I’m not sure it would be as tasty. If you do, let me know how they turn out)

Grease a 9×13 baking pan and set aside. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk together oats, flour, salt, and cinnamon until well combined. In a separate bowl, combine agave, egg white, apple sauce and vanilla extract. Add to dry ingredients and stir until well combined. This will be a wet, slightly sticky batter. Add the cranberries, seeds, nuts and coconut and stir until combined.

Spread evenly into prepared baking pan and bake for about 30 minutes or until golden around the edges and set in the middle. Cool in pan for about five minutes. Then cut into bars. Remove bars from pan and cool completely on a cooling rack. Store in an airtight container in the fridge. They should be good for about 10 days.

2 Responses to “Recovery Monday Bars Recipe”

  1. iwanttobeatriathlete February 25, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I gotta get this recipe to The Dude so he can make these for me!!! BTW, thanks for plugging my blog. 🙂

    • mymultipersonality February 25, 2012 at 1:57 am #

      of course! yes, have el dude give them a go and let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

